Every year, when the school year ends and summer rolls around, there are questions about what content in the School Loop system carries over into the next year -- what is archived, what is perpetual, and what is deleted? "Archived" means the records will be placed in a specific location for later access. "Perpetual" means that the records will simply continue to exist on an ongoing basis, and nothing will be deleted. "Deleted," as you might expect, means they are removed from the system. Below is a master list of how different types of content within the School Loop system are treated.
Note: Since some content, including assignments, course news, events and notes, are either archived or removed, it is best not to jump ahead and add this content for the next school year during the summer until your school has been rolled. The roll typically happens about a week to 10 days before the first day of school. Contact your district or School Loop support to find out when your school is scheduled to roll.
Shortly before the start of a school year, School Loop prepares sites for the new year by archiving certain types of content. This process occurs approximately 10 days to 4 weeks before the first day of the school year. The exact date is at the school's discretion.
LoopMail. LoopMail messages for the three previous school years are available through the Historical Archive link on the left side of your LoopMail inbox. Archived messages are sorted by school year and you will have access to both your sent and received LoopMail messages. Messages that you have placed in custom folders will not be automatically archived and will remain in their folders.
Discussion threads for groups, news items, and events. All discussion in these areas will continue to display on an ongoing basis. Users can continue discussions over the summer and into the new year.
Events. The last 12 months of events at all levels (district, school, groups, personal, and website events) are saved from year to year. Course events are removed just before the beginning of the new year.
Groups. All groups including Curriculum Groups are perpetual and remain unchanged from year to year.
Lockers. No locker content is altered when the site is rolled into the new year, with the exception of course lockers which is discussed above. This includes personal lockers, group lockers, and website lockers. In the case of personal lockers, any saved file will continue to be available into the next year, provided that user returns to the school.
News. We save the last 12 months work of news. By clicking the View All News button wherever news is displayed in the system, you will be able to look at posted news dating back for that time period.
User Accounts. All user accounts (with the exception of graduating student/parent accounts) are kept from year to year. All account types except for teachers and students can be manually deleted by using the Delete link in the user lists.
Website content. Content posted to the school website will not be altered from one year to the next. Changes can be made to the website at any time by users with Webmaster rights, and the system will never delete anything with the exception of Website notes which are cleared just before the beginning of the new school year.
School Loop doesn't delete much from year to year, but when we do, it happens at the same time other content is archived -- approximately 10 days before the start of the new school year.
Graduating Student and Parent accounts. Graduating student accounts and parent accounts associated with those students are deleted from the system.
Student Dropbox and Turned In Work. Student work from the previous year is not retained. Students can use their personal lockers to save work from year to year.
Student schedules from previous school years. School Loop does not retain information on a student's schedule from the previous school year.