At the beginning of a term, moving sections from one course-center to another to consolidate students is recommended before adding any assignments. This makes assigning work and grading easier. It may be necessary to separate sections into separate Gradebooks to accommodate the need for different grading policies, alternate day schedules, etc.
Separating sections may require the creation of new course centers. If new course-centers are needed, contact a system administrator or submit a Help Ticket to School Loop Support by clicking on the red ? icon at the top right of any page in your portal.
The Manage Sections link is located in the Quick Links section of the portal homepage after login. This is where you can merge sections, separate sections, change course titles, and view your rosters.
Move & Merge
Before you enter assignments or grades, you can move a section from one course into another.
- Click the Move & Merge button of the section you wish to move.
- Check the button next to the course you want to move the section into.
- Click the Submit button.
Edit Course Title
Course titles are imported from your school's student information system (SIS) and are often abbreviated in odd ways. On the Manage Sections page, there is an Edit button next to the course title that allows you to change it. Refer to the Editing Course Titles article for detailed instructions.
The View Roster displays a list of students in that section. Any student who has been dropped from that section appears with a line through their names. Clicking on the name of any student takes you to their Student Record.
Hide Dropped Courses
Dropped courses that no longer need to be accessed can be hidden from the portal. This can be done by clicking the Change button on the far right side of the course. By default, empty courses are hidden from your portal automatically so there is no need to hide empty courses.
Q: Why Are the Move & Merge Buttons Dimmed or Grayed Out?
A: You have entered at least one assignment. Since assignments and grades cannot be moved from one course to another, the Move & Merge button is made inactive. It is still possible to move sections if you're willing to re-enter assignments and scores. Contact School Loop support or ask your site administrator to move the sections for you in this case. Keep in mind that if you move a section out of the course, you are moving it away from any existing assignments or scores that you have already entered.